As we roll into the holiday season, I like to reflect on the year and think about the good and the bad experiences of book blogging .

In January, I decided that most of the books that I would read in 2011 would be ebooks. I imagined myself going paper-less in a few years. While I discovered some cool writers like Henkel, Nicholson, Day, and Jeffery, I found that a stack of books will draw my attention more than a list on a screen.

It was also in January when I royally pissed off my first publisher (at least the first one that I know of). A Fox Chapel Publishing publicist sent me a “snotty-gram” after I opined about my unfinished “Lorem Ipsum Dolor Sit” Greeked-out  review copy of “The Art of Steampunk.” The author, Art Donovan, was kind enough to leave a comment on the blog explaining that, “the galleys of the book are still in the editing process. The final edit is due out soon!” Months later, I managed to get my hands on a finished copy, no thanks to Fox Chapel’s publicist, and gave the book a positive review. By the way, the publicist let me know that I was NOT on the list of approved reviewers.

Speaking of unfinished stuff, in February, I bought a copy of Brad Meltzer’s The Inner Circle. About half of the book is a “complimentary” copy of Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child’s “THE  CABINET OF CURIOSITIES.” Meltzer, I want a refund! If I wanted half a book, I’ll buy half a book.

By March, I was hooked on an online series called “Blood and Bone China” and chilling out to a steampunk band called Abney Park. Several books were read to the beat of Abney Park.

I was lucky enough to win several contests. I know how hard it is to run a contest and only generate a few entries so I throw my hat in from time to time. Two of my favorite sets of prizes were from Julie and Autumn. On the downside, I have been notified that I have won prizes from a couple of websites but I never received the prize. In one case, the guy has all but disappeared and I worry about his health.

By May, I was experimenting with youtube. I posted a video of me throwing away my playboy stash. I still get emails about that video. Although, most of the emails ask me to send any other magazines I find to them rather than throwing them away. Later, I started adding videos of me thumbing through some of the books that I reviewed. In the future, I hope to do some book reviews on video.

My Mother and Sister had some health problems this year and I spent a lot of time in waiting rooms. With my interest in esoteric titles, you can imagine the strange looks that I got while reading something from Weiser or New Page in the waiting rooms.

For the most part the book publishers were very kind to me. I received books from a couple of publishers that I had not heard of before, and I wondered how they got my mailing address. Sadly, a couple of publishers went silent. The strangest publisher had to be EDGE Science Fiction and Fantasy Publishing. I contacted them in March and they replied that they would send me something “when they are sent out.” I gave up on them when I noticed the book was on the market. In October they emailed me and asked if I would like to interview one of the editors. I replied that I would love to do an interview. A few days went by with no response. I emailed them with my interview questions — to this day I haven’t received anything from them or heard from them. Very strange …

In some cases publishers may not like what I have to say, as with Fox Chapel, and in other cases they may not like what I review, as with Litfuse Publicity Group. An email from Litfuse read, “this is a non-fiction Christian title […] After reviewing your blog, I’m not sure the book would be a good fit”. I guess that they didn’t like some of my esoteric book reviews.

It’s been a very good year. I’ve had some very good feedback from the Gnostalgia readers. I enjoy the emails and the comments (well most of them *wink*). Keep them coming and have a great Christmas holiday.

peppy the elf

5 responses to “2011 blogging the good and the bad”

  1. Autumnforest Avatar

    Peppy! I can’t help it, but whenever there is a Peppy picture, I get all goofy and happy inside. I also must comment that you are definitely lying about your age, dear. You are a good 15-20 years younger than you say you are. Retroaging–I want your recipe. You have had a crazy year and it’s been great to see the titles you approve of so I can expand my collection. Maybe some day, if I quit writing, I can start reading them! Here’s to 2012 and tons of free books, lots of treats for Peppy and a mailman who doesn’t crush your packages, better yet, a cute girl mail carrier who appreciates men who read.

  2. Adsila Avatar

    Peppy is so gosh-darn cute (just like you Barry). Happy reading and holidays to the both of you.

    1. Barry Huddleston Avatar

      I thank you and Peppy thanks you.

  3. yankeepride Avatar

    It’s great seeing my 2 most favorite southern guys! Hmmmm, wonder if I should say who the cuter one is?? 😉 Just teasing… it’s definitely… a TIE! LOL
    Give Peppy, Mom, Darlene and Willy my love……
    OH! and give yourself some of that too…from me! 🙂

  4. Deborah Anne Hart Avatar

    Barry, great picture of you, and Peppy the Elf too!
    Btw, I accidently deleted the most recent of the MP3 songs you sent (not Ave Maria or Cello Wars)
    before I had a chance to download it. Any chance you might consider resending it? I’ve been good, Santa!

Leave a comment

I’m Barry

Hello, and welcome to my blog! My name is Barry, and I’m a book lover, a book reviewer, and a book recommender. 📚

In this blog, I will share with you my thoughts and opinions on the books that I read, the products that I use, and the topics that I find interesting. I will also give you some tips and tricks on how to improve your reading skills, how to find the best deals on books and products, and how to enjoy the wonderful world of literature. 🌎

Whether you are a casual reader, a avid reader, or a bookworm, I hope you will find something useful and entertaining in this blog. I also hope you will join me in the discussion and share your own views and experiences. 😊

So, without further ado, let’s get started! 🚀

Let’s connect